Colorado is a destination for motorcyclists all over the nation and for good reason. Our state’s natural beauty, rich history and spectacular roads makes the region perfect for motorcycling. However, there are a few things you need to know before ripping through Colorado on two wheels.
7 Things Motorcycle Riders Need to Know About Riding Motorcycles in Colorado
- Before a motorcycle can be legal in Colorado, it needs a few things. It must have one or two headlamps, a tail light that can be seen from 500 feet away that must be 20 – 72 inches off the ground and include a brake light. The horn must be audible from 200 feet away and it must have mirrors that can look back at least that far. Your motorcycle has to have a muffler, and if it was built after 1973, it can’t be louder than 86 decibels measured at 50 feet.
- Now that you know what Colorado requires of your motorcycle, it may be handy to know what you can wear while riding it. And though safety gear like a helmet or leather jacket are often recommended, it is your right to choose whether you wear them in Colorado. But our state does require you to use eyewear, and if you are under 18, you must wear a DOT approved helmet.
- That being said, Colorado is a state of many climates. On Pikes Peak, it has been known to be sunny one moment, raining the next, and then snowing half an hour later. Check the weather report before you go out and wear the appropriate gear to make your ride comfortable.
- If you ride a three-wheeled autocycle into Colorado, you need to know that Colorado considers it a motorcycle, and applicable motorcycle laws do still apply, but the state also considers autocycles a special type of vehicle. Autocycles with bucket seats don’t require you to have a motorcycle license to drive and they must be equipped with seatbelts. If you are riding a three-wheeler with motorcycle style seating, then you do need a motorcycle classification on your license.
- For your insurance, you must have a policy that covers $25,000 in bodily injury or death coverage for at least one person, $50,000 bodily injury or death coverage for multiple people, and $15,000 of property damage coverage.
- Though the issue has been debated in the state capitol, lanesplitting is still illegal in Colorado. So please don’t ride between lanes of traffic.
- There is natural wonder and historic landmarks all over Colorado. That means it’s never a bad idea to make a stop and take in the wonders around you. It’ll make your cruise far more enjoyable.
From the motorcycling attorneys at Metier Law Firm—helping motorcyclist all over Colorado whenever trouble arises.