Colorado offers some of the best motorcycle riding in the country. Here is everything you need to know about getting a Colorado motorcycle license.
First, understand that you do not need a separate license to operate a motorcycle in Colorado, just a designation. Once you have an “M” endorsement on your license, you can ride a motorcycle or sports bike to your heart’s content.
You can get an endorsement in one of two ways:
- Take the Tests. If you are already experienced in the art of motorcycle riding, you can take the written skills test and an on-bike skills test at a driver license office or an approved third party facility.
- Enroll in a Training Program. These courses teach you all about motorcycle riding and motorcycle safety, ideal for new riders, and they include the necessary tests. They can be costly – possibly up to $200 – and they generally last about 15 hours for the introductory program. Studies have shown that riders who take training courses are less likely to crash their motorcycles.
To apply for the “M” endorsement, you must be at least 16 years old. If you are under 18 years old, you need 12 documented months of operating with a motorcycle instruction permit before applying for the official endorsement. If you are between 15 and 16 years old, you must complete a Motorcycle Operators Safety Training (MOST) program.
About The Tests
- The written test is multiple choice, and all of the material is covered in the Motorcycle Handbook provided by the Department of Transportation.
- The road skills portion tests the following abilities: sharp left turn, normal and quick stops, obstacle swerves and cone weaves. Riders take the test on a simulated course.
The Metier Law Firm, LLC – Denver accident attorneys